Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS) Advisory Committee

Page last updated: 27 April 2021


The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS) Advisory Committee has been established to ensure that appropriate quality and safety standards of practice are applied to Medicare-funded diagnostic imaging.

Roles and functions

The role of the Advisory Committee is to provide the Department with assistance and advice on the development of policy under the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme.

Functions of the Advisory Committee include:

  • providing interpretative advice on existing standards
  • developing, in consultation with the Department, a process for developing, reviewing and maintaining standards
  • reviewing and revising existing standards
  • providing advice on aligning the DIAS with other relevant accreditation programmes to avoid duplication
  • developing new standards in response to new government policy, emerging patient safety risks, non-compliance issues or patient complaints
  • recommending revised implementation arrangements under the DIAS, including consideration of arrangements for conformity assessments
  • providing advice on the administration of the DIAS

In executing these functions, the Advisory Committee will be assisted, as required, by subject-specific working groups.


The Committee comprises individuals with expertise in diagnostic imaging policy, practice, standards development and accreditation; health administration and health consumer advocacy. Nominees were sought from key professional, industry (including representation from public and private health sectors) and consumer representative groups.

The Committee has 17 members comprising:

  • 15 members appointed on the basis of their technical expertise and experience; and
  • two ex-officio members including the Assistant Secretary, Diagnostic Imaging and Pathology Branch, Medical Benefits Division as the Chair and a Departmental Medical Advisor.

Expert Committee Members

View the full list of Expert Committee Members and a brief summary of their individual biographies.

Advisory Statements

The Committee will release Advisory Statements to clarify specific requirements of the DIAS Practice Accreditation Standards.

Application of Standard 2.4 to diagnostic imaging providers performing imaging services in surgical settings

Revised Diagnostic Reference Levels for selected computed tomography scans

Introduction of Diagnostic Reference Levels for image guided and interventional procedures: Coronary angiography

New Reference for Disinfection Requirements in Standard 1.6, Healthcare Associated Infection

Clarifying the Required Evidence for Standard 3.2, Optimised Radiation Technique Charts

Requirement for High Level Disinfection of Ultrasound Transducers

Clarification of evidentiary requirements for Standard 1.5 in relation to service provider qualifications and licences

Introduction of Revised Diagnostic Reference Levels for Computed Tomography

Clarification of consent requirements for transvaginal and transrectal ultrasound procedures

Nuclear medicine imaging procedures: consent requirements for the administration of radiopharmaceuticals

Light based disinfection systems for use with ultrasound probes

Introduction of Adult Diagnostic Reference Levels for Nuclear Medicine

Stakeholder Engagement and Committee bulletins

You can find information about how the Committee will advise stakeholders of outcomes from their meetings in the Committee Stakeholder Engagement Plan for 2019-2022. This document also outlines how the Committee will involve stakeholders in the planning, design, undertaking and evaluation of recommendations regarding the DIAS.

Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee

From time to time, the Committee will publish bulletins to communicate the outcomes from recent meetings, and provide further information about the current and ongoing work being considered through the Committee.