The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS)

This page contains information about the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme.

Page last updated: 02 August 2018

The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS or the Scheme) was developed to ensure safety and quality standards for diagnostic imaging practices. DIAS was established in June 2007 through the Health Insurance Act 1973 which links mandatory accreditation to the payment of Medicare benefits for diagnostic imaging services listed in the Diagnostic Imaging Services Table (DIST).

Stage I of the Scheme was introduced in July 2008, with accreditation arrangements covering practices providing diagnostic radiology services only. From 1 July 2010, Stage II of the Scheme was broadened to include practices providing non-radiology services such as cardiac ultrasound and angiography, obstetric and gynaecological ultrasound and nuclear medicine imaging services. Since July 2010, all diagnostic imaging practices intending to render any diagnostic services for the purpose of ‘Medicare benefits’ must be accredited under DIAS.

Practices that are not accredited under DIAS cannot provide Medicare funded diagnostic imaging services and must inform clients prior to carrying out these services. It is an offence under the Health Insurance Act 1973 not to notify patients that a practice is not accredited and that a Medicare benefit is not payable before providing diagnostic imaging services.

Following a review, changes were made to the Practice Accreditation Standards for the DIAS. These changes came into effect from 1 January 2016. No new standards were introduced as the changes were made primarily to clarify requirements, address ambiguities and inconsistencies and to ensure alignment with the National Safety and Quality Health Services Standards produced by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.

Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee

The Department also established the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee to ensure that appropriate quality and safety standards of practice continue to be applied to Medicare-funded diagnostic imaging. Further information about the committee can be found on the committee webpage.

DIAS Practice Accreditation Standards and resources

Fact Sheets