Plasma Fractionation Review

Australia’s plasma fractionation arrangements were reviewed in 2006, in line with commitments under the Australia-United States Free Trade Agreement (AUSFTA). The purpose of the review was to provide governments with a solid basis to make an informed decision on future arrangements. Further information about the review can be accessed from this page.

Page last updated: 14 May 2013

The review was conducted by an independent committee, chaired by Mr Philip Flood AO. Also appointed to the committee were Mr Peter Wills AC (Deputy Chairman), Sir Peter Lawler OBE, Professor Graeme Ryan AC, and Associate Professor Kevin A. Rickard AM. The review report was released in December 2006.

In March 2007 the Commonwealth announced that, without agreement from state and territory governments on the introduction of changed arrangements, the current arrangements whereby Australian plasma is processed in Australia will continue.

In this section