Regional Training Hubs

On 13 April 2017, the Government announced the 26 regional training hubs to be established across Australia.

Page last updated: 13 January 2019

Regional training hubs were established as a component of the Integrated Rural Training Pipeline for Medicine (IRTP) and have been implemented through the Rural Health Multidisciplinary Training (RHMT) program at existing RHMT program training sites.

Regional training hubs build on the rural training network established through the RHMT program. The objectives of the regional training hubs are to:

  • Improve the coordination of the stages of medical training to enable students intending to practise rurally to complete as much of their medical training as possible within regional and rural areas;
  • Identify students with an interest in practising rurally and facilitate access to networked rural training opportunities at an early stage in their careers;
  • Develop regional training capacity by supporting current supervisors of clinical training, assisting health services in obtaining accreditation for new training positions, and supporting local medical practitioners to become clinical supervisors;
  • Strengthen existing, and develop new, connections with key stakeholders to improve the continuity of training for medical students/trainees within their region; and
  • Identify regional medical workforce needs and use this information to prioritise activity.

Regional Training Hubs

NSWMid North CoastUniversity of New South Wales
Border (Albury – Wodonga)University of New South Wales
MurrumbidgeeUniversity of New South Wales
Riverina University of Notre Dame Australia
South East NSWAustralian National University
Far Western NSWUniversity of Sydney
Western NSW University of Sydney
Northern NSWUniversity of Sydney
University of Wollongong
North West NSWUniversity of Newcastle
NTNorthern Territory Flinders University
Queensland Southern QueenslandUniversity of Queensland
Wide BayUniversity of Queensland
Central QueenslandUniversity of Queensland
North QueenslandJames Cook University
Western QueenslandJames Cook University
Far North QueenslandJames Cook University
SA Limestone CoastFlinders University
Eyre Peninsula and Spencer GulfUniversity of Adelaide
Tasmania North West TasmaniaUniversity of Tasmania
Victoria North West VictoriaMonash University
GippslandMonash University
Western VictoriaDeakin University
Goulburn ValleyMelbourne University
WA Midwest/GoldfieldsUniversity of Western Australia
Kimberley/PilbaraUniversity of Western Australia
Great Southern and WheatbeltUniversity of Western Australia

More information

For further information email