Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund

This page contains information on the Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund.

Page last updated: 19 July 2021

About the Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund (RJDTIF)

The RJDTIF transferred to the Junior Doctor Training Program (Rural Primary Care Stream) – a key element of the $550 million Stronger Rural Health Strategy announced as part of the 2018-19 Budget with Government investment committed to support improved rural health services over five years commencing in 2018.

The objectives of the RJDTIF are to provide training to Postgraduate Year 1 (intern or PGY1) and Postgraduate Year 2 (PGY2) doctors by:

  • providing rurally based junior doctors with a training period in a rural primary care setting, building on the rural training networks funded by the states and territories;
  • developing rural training capacity by fostering innovative ways of training junior doctors in primary care settings; and
  • strengthening the rural training pathway to improve training continuity within their region.

The intended outcomes of the program are:

  • improved retention of medical graduates and junior doctors in rural medical practice;
  • increased rural medical training capacity; and
  • a contribution to the development of a rural pathway continuum for medical education and training in expanded settings by enhancing rural training networks.

Important Information

As part of the 2021-22 Federal Budget, the Australian Government announced the introduction of the new John Flynn Prevocational Doctor Program (JFPDP).

The JFPDP will consolidate the RJDTIF to increase rural primary care rotations for hospital-based prevocational doctors in rural areas from 440 rotations (110 Full-Time Equivalent [FTE]) in 2022 incrementally to 800 rotations (200 FTE) by 2025, enabling an additional 360 hospital-based junior doctors to experiences rural general practice.

The JFPDP will commence from 1 January 2023 and will deliver similar outcomes to the RJDTIF.

The current RJDTIF arrangements will continue until 31 December 2022.

RJDTIF Funded Organisations

The RJDTIF targets organisations that can provide innovative pathways for rurally based interns and PGY2s to access a training rotation in a rural primary care setting such as a general practice or an Aboriginal Medical Service (a rotation usually lasts between 8 to 12 weeks).

Currently, the following 15 organisations are funded under the RJDTIF:

  • Canberra Health Services (ACT Health Directorate)
  • Murrumbidgee Local Health District, New South Wales
  • Mid North Coast Local Health District, New South Wales
  • Western NSW Local Health District (Bathurst & Orange Base Hospitals)
  • Bairnsdale Regional Health Service, Victoria
  • South West Healthcare, Victoria
  • Eastern Victoria GP Training Limited
  • Barossa Hills Fleurieu Local Health Network Incorporated, South Australia
  • Central Australia Health Service, Northern Territory
  • Northern Territory of Australia (Top End Health Service)
  • Darling Downs Hospital and Health Service, Queensland
  • Ingham Family Medical Practice Pty Ltd, Queensland
  • Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia (Queensland Section) Limited
  • Ochre Health Pty Ltd, Tasmania
  • Pioneer Health Albany (Torch Bearer Pty Ltd), Western Australia

RJDTIF Funded Rotations

The RJDTIF fosters the development of innovative rurally based rotations for interns and PGY2s within the larger rural training networks for junior doctors. These networks are established within state and territory health systems and are being expanded by Commonwealth investment through supporting around 60 FTE additional places annually, comprising around 240 accreditation rotations into primary care settings.

Currently, the RJDTIF funded rotations are in the following locations:

  • New South Wales: Bega, Coolamon, Cootamundara, Cowra, Finley, Port Macquarie, Wagga Wagga
  • Victoria: Hamilton, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Leongatha, Moe, Portland Trafalgar, Warrnambool
  • Tasmania: Currie, Devonport, Geeveston, Queenstown, Scottsdale, St Helens
  • Western Australia: Albany
  • Northern Territory: Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek
  • Queensland: Ayr, Babinda, Bargara, Cannonvale, Charters Towers, Chillagoe, Clifton, Coen, Croydon, Einasleigh, Emerald, Forsayth, Georgetown, Greenvale, Goondiwindi, Hughenden, Ingham, Kowanyama, Lockhart, Mackay, Mount Surprise, Oakey, Pentland, Pormpuraaw, Ravenswood, Sarina, Theodore, Toowoomba City, Windermere
  • South Australia: Jamestown, Loxton, Mount Gambier, Naracoorte, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln

Further Information

Further enquiries should be directed to the inbox.