GTTAC provides scientific and technical advice to the Gene Technology Regulator (the Regulator) and the Legislative and Governance Forum on Gene Technology (formerly the Gene Technology Ministerial Council) on matters including:
  • gene technology, genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and genetically modified products (GM products);
  • applications made under the Gene Technology Act 2000 (the Act);
  • the biosafety aspects of gene technology;
  • the need for policy principles, policy guidelines, codes of practice and technical and procedural guidelines in relation to GMOs and GM products, and the content of such principles, guidelines and codes.
Under the Act, the Regulator assesses licence applications for dealings with GMOs and prepares a Risk Assessment and Risk Management Plan (RARMP). A key GTTAC responsibility is the provision of expert scientific advice to the Regulator on licence applications and RARMPs. The Regulator must seek GTTAC advice when assessing licence applications for dealings involving intentional release of GMOs into the environment (DIR). In the case of DIRs assessed as limited and controlled releases, the Regulator is only required to consult GTTAC on the RARMP.

GTTAC comprises 15 members appointed by the Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians and Minister for Youth and Sport, Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck.

Members include experts in relevant scientific fields including risk assessment, public health and ecology, as well as a layperson. GTTAC must also include a person who is a member of the Gene Technology Ethics and Community Consultative Committee (GTECCC).

Members of GTTAC are subject to strict disclosure of interest provisions which are contained in the Gene Technology Regulations 2001 (the Regulations). The Regulations also describe the way in which matters are to be resolved by the Committee, reporting requirements and procedures for convening meetings of the Committee.

GTTAC members 2020-2023

  • Prof John Rasko AO, Chair
  • Dr Graham Bonnett
  • Honorary Prof Fiona Cameron
  • Associate Prof Michael Considine
  • Dr Paul Downey
  • Dr Tessa Gargett
  • Dr Grant Logan
  • Associate Prof Michael Michael
  • Prof Geraldine O'Neill
  • Dr Gabrielle O'Sullivan
  • Dr Kelly Pearce
  • Dr Jason Smythe
  • Prof Jane Visvader
  • Prof Calum Wilson
  • Prof Paul Young
GTTAC members with biographies (PDF 814 KB)
GTTAC members with biographies (Word 4911 KB)

GTTAC Communiques

Content within this section