National Framework for Universal Child and Family Health Services

3.8 Core elements of universal health services for children and families

Page last updated: 20 May 2013

This section outlines the core elements of the health services that all children and families should receive in the period from birth to eight years. There are four core service elements:

  • health and developmental surveillance;
  • health promotion;
  • early identification of family need and risk; and
  • responding to identified need.
Within each of the core service elements there are services and activities to guide implementation.