National Women's Health Policy

Developing the key health areas identified in the consultations into priority health issues

Page last updated: 07 February 2011

The key health areas identified through the consultations were then examined in the context of data relating to disease prevalence, cause of death and burden of disease in Australian women. Four health priority issues were identified and these are discussed in Chapter Two and Chapter Three. Current measures and proposed action areas against these four health priority issues are discussed in Chapter Four.

The National Women’s Health Policy key priority areas are:

  • Prevention of chronic disease and the control of risk factors;
  • Mental health and wellbeing;
  • Sexual and reproductive health; and
  • Healthy ageing.