Medical Training Review Panel: fourteenth report

College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand

Page last updated: 11 March 2011

The College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand (CICM) was established in 2009 and developed from the former Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP). From the 1st January 2010 CICM assumed responsibility for the training program in intensive care medicine. The training program is fl exible and allows trainees to undertake training concurrently with other related college programs (eg RACP, ANZCA, ACEM).

Training Program

There are basic and advanced components of the CICM training program, both requiring three years full-time. Details of the program and subjects covered are outlined in Objectives of Training in Intensive Care available on the CICM web site.

Many trainees undertake dual training or have completed training in a primary specialty, such as anaesthesia, medicine or emergency medicine.

The intensive care training program provides for interrupted and part-time training, which is permissible in any year of training. Part-time training must result in the equivalent time being spent in training as required by full-time trainees and the minimum trainee commitment must be 20% of a full-time trainee.

Trainee Selection

Trainees must be registrable in their region of training, have completed 12 months general hospital experience, are free from alcohol and chemical abuse, and agree to comply with the CICM regulations relating to training. Selection to positions within an intensive care unit (ICU) is conducted by the employing authority not the CICM. The RACP trainees entering the joint intensive care medicine program need to have completed basic physician training and the FRACP written and clinical examinations prior to joining. Further details are outlined in the College Trainee Selection Policy.

Trainee Assessment

In basic training there is annual assessment by the supervisor. The subjects for the fellowship examination are the theory and practice of intensive care, including relevant aspects of the basic sciences and related disciplines. The examination consists of written and oral sections. The medical Australian Donor Awareness Program (ADAPT) is required in basic or advanced training.

Overseas Trained Specialists

The assessment process is outlined in the CICM OTS Policy document. Applicants are assessed against equivalence with Australian specialists. Applicants not assessed as equivalent may be required to undertake a clinical practice assessment in an approved post and/or all or part of the clinical performance assessment.


Assessment criteria are outlined in the CICM Accreditation Policy documents. Criteria include, but are not limited to the following:

  • the case load and case mix to which trainees will be exposed;
  • sufficient numbers of staff in the unit, including FCICMs and ancillary staff;
  • suitable operational requirements, such as auditing procedures, educational programs for trainees and staff, research programs, quality assurance, clerical support;
  • appropriate ICU design, including office space; and
  • appropriate ICU equipment and facilities.

The accreditation level is granted based upon the maximum amount of time in months that a trainee could spend there.

Further Information