'Large rural centres' classified as RRMA 3 areas, such as Whyalla, Wagga Wagga and Port Macquarie, are shown in Figure 2.3.3. There has been an increase in the ratio of FWE GPs to the population in RRMA 3 areas, but it remains slightly lower than the national average. RRMA 3 centres do not qualify for some of the incentive programs, such as the Higher Education Contribution Scheme (HECS) Reimbursement scheme which was implemented in 2000-01 for medical graduates who undertake to work in rural areas, and have only recently become available as centres for GP training through the rural pathway.

Graph showing RRMA 3 areas, including large rural centres