RRMA 4 areas cover 'small rural areas' and are the first of the rural and remote regions that are eligible for the full range of incentive programs which have been implemented from 2000 onwards. Many RRMA 4 areas are on the coast, such as Coffs Harbour, and are located at a reasonable distance to 'major cities'.

Graph showing RRMA 4 areas, which are small rural areas