Canteen Manager Training Part 1

Food Classification

Page last updated: 08 October 2013

Foods in Australia are classified according to The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating as:

  • Vegetables and legumes
  • Fruits
  • Dairy and alternatives
  • Meat and alternatives
  • Grains and cereals
This guide is the national Australian food selection guide known as The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating (AGTHE). It was developed to help Australians choose a healthy diet to meet their nutritional requirements from a variety of foods. We will talk more about this guide later when we look at the number of serves and serve size recommendations from the different food groups for children. For now, we just want to look at how foods are grouped in this guide and the purpose for that.

Please note that this guide is currently under review.