National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Suicide Prevention Strategy

Appendix 1: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Suicide Prevention Advisory Group

Page last updated: 2013

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Suicide Prevention Advisory Group.

Dr Tom Calma AO, Northern Territory (Chair): Dr Calma is an Aboriginal elder from the Kungarakan tribal group and a member of the Iwaidja tribal group. Dr Calma is a former Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner, and the current National Coordinator for Tackling Indigenous Smoking. Dr Calma was recently appointed as the new chancellor of the University of Canberra.

Ms Adele Cox, Western Australia: Adele Cox is a Bunuba & Kija (Gija) woman from the Kimberley region of Western Australia. Adele is a current member of Australian Suicide Prevention Advisory Council (ASPAC) and past member of National Advisory Council on Mental Health (NACMH).

Prof. Ernest Hunter, Queensland: Ernest Hunter is an Australian medical graduate trained in adult, child, cross cultural psychiatry and public health. He is Regional Psychiatrist with Queensland Health and Adjunct Professor with the University of Queensland based in Cairns.

Mr Tom Brideson, New South Wales: Tom Brideson is a Kamilaroi man. Tom is a Visiting Fellow with NSW Centre for Rural and Remote Mental Health at Newcastle University; past Program Leader for the CRC for Aboriginal Health; consultant on Social and Emotional Wellbeing for Indigenous HealthInfoNet.

Dr Pat Dudgeon, Western Australia: Pat Dudgeon is from Bardi people of the Kimberley. She is a psychologist and is known for her role in Indigenous higher education. Pat is the current Chair of Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association (AIPA); first convener of the Australian Psychological Society Interest Group, Aboriginal issues and Aboriginal People and Psychology and current Chair of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Mental Health Advisory Group (ATSIMHAG). Professor Dudgeon was also appointed as a Commissioner to the National Mental Health Commission in 2011.

Mary Victor O’Reeri, Western Australia: WA Local Hero 2011. Mary Victor O’Reeri lives in the Billard and Beagle Bay Aboriginal communities in the remote north‐west Kimberley region of Western Australia. Mary convened the inaugural Blank Page Summit in her remote community at Billard in the north west Kimberley in 2009.

Ashley Couzens, South Australia: Ashley is from the Riverlands District of South Australia and has been a senior Aboriginal Health Worker and a community worker for a number of years. He was instrumental in forming the Riverland Aboriginal Men’s Support Group, and currently works as a Team Leader for the Life Without Barriers.