The Memorandum of Understanding in Relation to Developing an Effective National Partnership EHealth Capability between the Commonwealth, states and territories, which commenced on 25 June 2013 and will expire on 30 June 2014, deals with national eHealth capability, eHealth governance and funding for eHealth activities.

Contracts, agreements and memoranda of understanding have been entered into with:

  • Accenture, as the National Infrastructure Operator, and DHS to provide the day to day operation and management of the eHealth record system
  • the National E-Health Transition Authority (NEHTA) to provide services including implementation of standards and specifications for information exchange, management of clinical and standards reference groups, and clinical safety assurance
  • the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC), the Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA) and the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care to support their roles in the delivery of the eHealth record system.